Elaboration


So, my first day in the new lab is coming up, it is going to be a hot day, I’m wondering what to wear?  Polo and shorts?  Dress up shirt and blue jeans?   A tie?  Any advice would be nice.

The other day I made a list of things that irritate me as a waiter, and I feel I should elaborate one one of them.  Big tables.  A lot of waiters like big tables, you get a large group together, it is usually a large check, and should be a large tip.  I am not one of those waiters, today is a perfect example of why.  I had a large group come in, nine people.  It is graduation weekend and I am dealing with lots of families coming in celebration new college grads.  YEA!  Well, the table was drinking a little, and racked up a 150 dollar bill, service was impeccable, and there were praises all around from the family.  When I opened the book expecting a 30 dollar tip for my fantastic service and instead saw a 10 dollar tip, I was reminded why I don’t like big tables.  They are to much of a risk.  That table was 65% of my sales, and their tip only accounted for 33% of the money I made.  The other two tables, tipped me a collective 18 dollars on the remaining 80 dollars of sales.  That one table took me from well above 20% tips to right around 10% tips.  ONE lousy tip ruined my afternoon.

Another, although less important reason why I don’t like big tables is because they are a time suck.  They require so many things that often times other tables in my section can receive poor service, and there is nothing I can do about it, even if I do get a good tip on that one large table, it may cost me on my other tables.  So, whenever possible I say no thank you to big tables.  I’d rather take the small ones*.

My first table of the morning was awesome, three college age girls, they sat down, all ordered orange juice and water, and two ordered Bloody Marys.  I asked, hungover much?  Which they laughed at, then i said celebrating graduation?  They responded yes, and I teased them some more, they tipped me 11 dollars on a 30 dollar bill, those are the tables I like.

I’m going to lick my wounds, Pam should be home in about an hour or so, and I think I am going to take her mini golfing and then to a more touristy part of town that she hasn’t seen yet.  This afternoon we are cooking dinner, then a quiet night together.  It is so nice no to have to worry about homework.  I forget how big of a time suck college really is.

*If it is slow, it usually is a good strategy to take them, however, I am to damn lazy to want any tables when it is slow.  I totally have the wrong mindset for being a server.

~ by epiphron13 on May 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
