Morning Blogging


I usually don’t head in to MRU until 10 or 11 these days, as there are not any pressing tasks that are required of me right away.  To be honest I’m not sure if I am going to go in today at all.  Most of what I need to do is read journal articles, I have about 8 old ones to review and write a summary on, and then six new ones.  If I get through all of them today I would probably just call it a day and quit.  Also, now that I have hacked the internet at my place I can do more stuff from home, which is nice.  I am finding this internet to be exceptionally slow most of the time, however in the early morning before 10 or so, it is much faster.  I was shifting to being a morning bird anyway, so now the motivation is just the icing on the cake to get my butt out of bed.

There is an interesting article about the sexiest women scientists, 14 are female, and one is PZ Meyers, and there are definitely issues with objectifying women.  I will say is that I don’t think it was a wise article to write, and I don’t think it was done in a good way, so I will not link to it*.  Someone should do a ‘Sexiest Women Research’ article, highlighting the most fascinating and interesting research that women are doing right now.  Really, one thing that irritates me about that article is it makes it sound like being an attractive female (male?) scientist is a deviation from the norm.  In reality, I’ve known many attractive tenured professors, and the vast majority of the women I work with are quite attractive**.  Blogging on feminist issues is not something I intend to do on a regular basis, I try to support feminism, and be sensitive to how things affect women, but I feel like there are plenty of women out there who blog about science and feminism and do a great job***, much better than I could do.  However, every now and again I will go on tangents.

I got to know one of my lab mates better yesterday.  She is a Ph.D. student in my lab, and I have spoken to her somewhat, but haven’t really gotten to know her.  Yesterday, we go to to talk for about an hour, and she is an amazing person, smart, funny and very compassionate.  I’m fortunate to be able to work with her for the next two years.  I also learned about about the lab in general and got some pointers.  It is amazing how often people dispense advice to you, but it is good I like it.

I’m going to eat an orange and put the peels where my cat shouldn’t go, apparently cats hate orange peels?

*I also am not very good at linking to things and its a lot of work, but mostly out of principle I won’t link to it.

**The guys are too, but this paragraph isn’t really about the guys…

***FSP, Dr. Isis, YoungFemaleScientist, Samia and many others, basically just look at my blogroll

~ by epiphron13 on July 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
