Substance


I like many bloggers, read other blogs.  I notice various things on their blogs, one thing in particular, is that many of the other bloggers write about published literature, while I never have.  I have never considered why this is, until today.  Well, for starters, I read literature, however every piece of literature I read, is related to my subfield, and it is a small subfield.  I swear Dr. Jones knows every scientist who has ever published on this idea on a first name basis.  So, most of the literature I read, I don’t care to blog about, as this is an anonymous blog.  Also, I am constantly worried that people will see that I am not nearly as smart as they think I am.  I don’t know where this stems from, and why I am so insecure, but I tend to play it safe rather than talk about things I am not sure of.  Any literature I review would be in a field foreign to me, which would mean I am unsure of it.  Which brings me to another reason, if I were to blog about literature, it would have to be done right.  To do it poorly would be a disservice to the authors of the original work, as well to whoever reads this blog.  The time it would take me to read the literature, and look up the necessary background to speak on it with any degree of authority, is not astronomical, but I feel my time could be better allocated working towards my thesis.  I guess those are the reasons I abstain from blogging about literature.  With that being said, it has been my intention, since I started my first blog*, that when** I am a tenured biologist, I would either start a new blog in which I use my real name, or I make this blog not anonymous.

I am not going in to work today, I am supposed to be receiving a package today, and I want to make sure I get it today and not tomorrow or Friday.  Because of this, I am wearing blue jeans.  Oh blue jeans, how I miss wearing you every single day of the week.  How I long for winter when I can do that again…sigh…I am also going to make a stew today, because I feel like it.  It wont’ be all fun in games however, I have some work that needs to be done, and I will be doing it from home.  I may make a few posts today out of boredom however.  Have a good morning all!

*This is my second blog

**if?

~ by epiphron13 on August 11, 2010.

One Response to “Substance”

  1. Meh, I rather read the more personal stuff rather then the literature reviews (I do that all day already!). Reading about how others are handling their lives in academia is MUCH more interesting… iMHO

Leave a Reply

 
