Fuck That Shit!


There are many kinds of scientists and you can break us down in to an organized system much like we do to the organisms we study*.  As for right now, as far as I am concerned there are two types of biologists, those who work in the lab, and those who work in the field.  I am a lab person.  I like my lab, and while it is warmer than I would like, the temperature is much less variable than it is outside.  Yesterday, I went out collecting samples with a fellow graduate student and after that experience, it has galvanized my desire to work in the lab.  We woke up before the ass crack of dawn, and were collecting for about 7 hours.  During which time I was very tired, very dehydrated and had slight heat stroke.  I am being slightly dramatic, and while those things were true, it wasn’t to bad.  It was kind of nice to get out of the office, and I don’t think  I would mind doing a bit of field work from time to time, if for nothing else than to remind me exactly why I like my climate controlled lab.  I think my friend found some very interesting data though.

Speaking of, I do believe I should name him.  I think I am going to call him Frankenstein.  Not the monster, the one who created the monster.  Not because he is a physiologist, but mostly because he works very long hours**, is very bright and very motivated.  He is also from a town neighboring mine, so our sports affiliations align for the most part***, our accents are similar and we had many similarities growing up, which being that we are about 1000 miles from home, it is nice to have someone who knows what the fuck your talking about.

Today is going to be a very good day.  Pam and I are taking it easy, we woke up, made breakfast and then proceeded back to bed to watch Cops****.  We have a few errands to run, but other than that, today will be a relaxing day.  Oh and we are getting drunk tonight.  Fuck Yea!

The meeting with Dr. Jones went very well, he liked my idea for my thesis project and from here I am going to start writing a proposal.  I also learned from him that I am not walking nearly as fine of a line as I thought.  If I were to get a C, I would not be expelled, I would simply have to meet with him and the department head and discuss my academics.  Which is a big relief.  I am also not going to take stats this fall, which is a big relief.  I am going to take a biology course, probably a pretty hard one, but a hard bio course I am not worried about.  That is my field, biology is my bitch, no problem man.  The only concern I have is that much more is expected of me now, and while I know I wouldn’t be here if I wasn’t prepared, I am curios to see what is expected of me.  I know I have to make a large presentation for this class, which is fine, albeit nerve racking.  I just need to focus and I will be fine I’m sure.  Things are looking pretty damn good.  I’m excited to get to work and get this started to see what it is like!

*That’d be interesting to do

**Much more so than your humble narrator.

***He isn’t a baseball fan.

****Love that show!

~ by epiphron13 on August 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
