Meetings


I just found out I am expected to attend all seminars.  Not that surprising, although I am sure there will be times when I could find better uses of my time than listening to talks that have no relation to my field.  I see the merit, it allows the entire department to interact with an outside scientist, therefore raising awareness about our department to the scientist, who should in theory be a big name.  It also gives grad students exposure to big names in science, therefore helping propel our career forward.  Anyway the first seminar is coming up soon.

Turns out I am also expected to attend the social events afterward.  I guess that is also a good thing, particularly if big name in the field is still there.

It is going to be a busy weekend, papers to grade, articles to read, and last but not least, football to watch!  That is right, kick off of the 2010 college football season.  I’ve always been a pro football fan myself, but now that I find myself at excessively large college, with big deal football team, I think I’m going to be following college ball much closer.  We have tickets to the game, this will be my first time watching D1 football!  It should be a good time.  That being said, my pregame will consist of reading all about endocrines and animal behavior, exciting stuff!  Or perhaps grading really bad intro to bio lab reports?  Hard to say.  I could get drunk while grading lab reports, you certainly don’t need to be sober to judge them.  Anyway, I’m off to start my day.

~ by epiphron13 on September 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
