Rule Number 4


Nothing about Brett Favre, I promise

Geeka has a post up which has struck my curiosity.

It is a great post, about general advice she got when she arrived in her lab.  Some of it is specific to her situation, some of it could apply to anyone.  The one I want to talk about is number 4.

4.” Have at least 1 person on your committee that will stand up to your PI because he will save you. (And every time my favorite committee member did this, I was thankful.” -Geeka quoting a mysterious person named Dave

The funny thing about this particular post is I have heard numerous other grad students say Dr. Jones is there 1 person on their committee who will stand up for them*.

I really can’t crystallize the thought beyond that, so I will leave it.

I was able to get quite a bit done yesterday, I wrote a solid 4 pages worth of material, I have no idea if that is good or bad, but I’ve addressed the topics I want to address and I will be moving on from there.  One segment down, about 3 more to go.  This manuscript is looking to be on the 20 page range, double spaced, so 10 pages single spaced, I feel like that is an appropriate size, however, I have no fucking clue, maybe I will put a review paper in to word in the font I use and see how big it is.  Yea, that’s a good idea.  I’m honestly excited about this paper, it doesn’t even matter if it gets published, what is nice is that I can take all the background information I need to know, and write about it.  Writing about something makes it mine, writing about something gives me perspective on the field, and until I write about something, I don’t feel ownership over it.  Now, it is mine.

*Not specifically against their PI, but against the department chair or committee in general.

**So far, that can change.

~ by epiphron13 on September 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
