Early week dumping and not voting


We will get to dumping later.

For right now I want to talk about voting.  I like voting.  I always say the world is run by people who show up.  For the most part I believe it, and it kind of scares me.  So, I attempt to show up and do my patriotic duty.  Unfortunately, I will not be able to this time around.  Why?  Because the state I moved to has restrictive voting.  Not Jim Crow restrictive, but they certainly don’t make it easy for you.  In the past, all I need to have was a bill addressed to me at a place within that district, they had late voter registration and all that jazz.  It was nice, I could just show up, with a bill, and whammy vote.  Well, it turns out here you need a bill, and a state driver’s license (or appropriate ID).  I don’t have a driver’s license for this state, and I don’t have the money to get one.  Most people suggest I vote absentee, however, I’ve always had a problem with that.  I don’t live where I usually vote, I won’t live there in the next four years, and it would be unethical of me to vote in an election where I don’t have to deal with the elected officials.  So, sadly, there doesn’t appear to be much I can do.

About the dumping.  It feels like every Monday, I walk in to my office bright eyed and bushy tailed and wham, a shit ton of work gets dumped on me.  It is like FUCK!  I wanted to get some of my shit done, but NOOO!  I have to do these five worthless things that won’t affect anyone’s life.  Fuck you grad school.  Anyway, time to prepare for the day.

Still no word on how I did on the test…sad…

~ by epiphron13 on October 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
