Things are getting nice


The weather is really nice here right now.  Kind of like early to middle September back home.  Sweater weather, hoodies are great.  One of my favorite times of year, football is going on, baseball is finishing up, school has started, everything is good overall.  I have a lot on my plate right now, but not to much.  I have to prepare for a presentation in one week, prepare for a test next week Thursday, and there is all my usual work to boot.  It isn’t a ridiculous amount of work, but I definitely need to keep my nose to the grindstone.  I figure I will take the 3 hours I have til Pam gets home to correct some papers and flip through my note cards.  I should be able to get through them once.  I am doing pretty well, pretty far ahead, sitting pretty decent right now.  We will see what my adviser wants me to change on my presentation and then go from there.

I have a rough draft of my thesis proposal completed that my adviser can tear apart.  Should be able to pull together a final copy in a month or two.

One thing that is causing concern is I haven’t heard from my letter of reference writers for the NSF-GRFP.  Which means I may not be able to submit it.  Unfortunately, I really have not developed the connections here to have a solid letter of reference from the faculty.  I figured my old advisers back home would be my strongest letter writers.  I guess all I can do is sit and wait, see what happens.  I wouldn’t be disheartened if I didn’t submit the GRFP, it is a long shot anyway, and I think my odds would be better next year when I have accomplished more.  I don’t think it is a big deal to my adviser either.

Well, I should get my nose to the grindstone anyway.

~ by epiphron13 on October 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
