One of those kids


Am I one of those kids?  Ya know, the kids who say “OMG, I did so horrible on the test!”  Then they get an A.  I feel like every test I’ve taken in my course this fail, I’ve felt like I’m doing C work on a good day.  I don’t feel like I know what the fuck is going on, I don’t feel like I did well, and then I get mid to high B’s.  I’m starting to wonder if I’m that kid!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m ok with getting mid to high range B’s, but I don’t want to be a whiny kid…

I really did think I failed.  The prof put a distribution of the scores up and I saw the median, 75% and was like shit…I know I didn’t do as well, I know he didn’t curve it.  I’m fucked.  I was so stressed during the lecture.  I came home and I was a wreck, Pam was kind of worried about me.  Even after I found out I did ok, I was so tense.  I almost developed an ulcer on the spot.

On the bright side, you learn better when you are stressed, so the material covered in class I will now never forget.  Joy!

 

Off to work.

~ by epiphron13 on November 10, 2010.

4 Responses to “One of those kids”

  1. Sounds like you’re not one of those whiney kids, but rather on of those anxious kids…

    And while stress can emphasize that learning is important, you’ll probably be learning better if there’s not a portion of your brain locked up in OMG….

    You might want to work on that a bit.

    Just a thought…

    Catherine
    Foresight

    • I was actually referring the physiological processes that are associated with stress response. One thing your body does when it mounts a stress response is release vasopressin which helps to increase memory and cognition. Basically when you stressed, i.e. being chased by a bear, having better cognition can help you escape the bear. This could also explain why people describe traumatic events happening really slowly but really rapidly at the same time.

      Because I was so stressed out, my body upped my vasopressin levels and now details of that lecture will stick with me longer when compared to other lectures when I am less stressed.

      Thanks for the comment!

      • That does work short term but long term chronic stress has been shown in studies to lead to memory impairment (amongst other things)

        Physiologicallt, stress was originally meant as a sort term burst of power, designed to help us survive emergencies.

        Chronic stress however tends to have a negative respect. Can’t burn the candle at both ends for long …

        Catherine
        Foresight

  2. […] while back, I got some comments from someone who I assume wandered across this blog*.  The commenter was informing me about how […]

Leave a Reply

 
