Off the Soapbox


Well, I think it is time to get off my soapbox and get back to what this blog is primarily about.

It is about graduate school.

So how is this semester going?  Fucking slow, I feel like I haven’t done anything, whereas the last semester was project after project, challenge after challenge and success after success, this semester has been about the grind and not going completely ape shit.  My classes aren’t as challenging for one thing, one class I’m pulling a 90% without really trying, the other, well the other is like jello.  I know what it is, I know what it is about, but I can’t fucking nail it to the wall.  I’ve learned a lot, but I clearly haven’t mastered the subject, nor will I by the semesters end.  That being said I came in to the class with no knowledge about the subject, and it was really designed so I could learn a new program.  I’ve gotten some homework back that was good, some that was less than good, we took our first test a little while ago, so I will how that comes back.  If I did decent, I won’t worry, otherwise, I think I need to meet with the professor and see how I’m doing.  I just hope he gives me a pity B and we call it a day.  Mastering this subject is not a priority.

In the non-classroom world, it has been dull. My biggest goal is to stop putting two spaces after a period. It is really hard, after years of being conditioned to put two spaces after a period. Other than that I am resubmitting a grant, which basically entails touching the subject up a bit, dressing it up a bit, and sending it back in, perhaps we will be luckier this time around.

Blah.

I feel like I need a challenge, a massive project, something to work on…I tend to get complacent if I am not challenged. What I need to do is learn to start challenging myself rather than looking outward for challenges. I should look for a fellowship or another grant, or something, give me something to do, something to work on in my free time.

 

~ by epiphron13 on March 14, 2011.

One Response to “Off the Soapbox”

  1. I do the two-spaces thing too. It drives me insane. Good luck with that (see, I’m managing it here)!
    Happy pi day, by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
