Ask and ye shall recieve


Well I got word on my NSF-GRFP application, I wasn’t accepted. Not really surprising, but still kind of a bummer. What is really disappointing is that no one in my department won an award. I was really hoping someone would, but sadly, no.

Our department has kind of reached a bottle neck, we have more professors than we usually do, but our number of TA slots has not increased, so we can only take on a handful of graduate students for the Fall. My own lab it appears will not be getting a new graduate student, which is unfortunate, but a fact of life. The NSF-GRFP is one of the ways we can continue to add more graduate students and still support them, so I was hoping a couple of grad students would get an award and open up a few more TA spots.

One of my friends from another department did get the award, and I’m glad because she wasn’t sure what she was going to do next semester, now it doesn’t really matter, so that is good news!

Moving forward I intend to apply next Fall again, additionally next Fall I want to get some kind of grant money, so I’ve made a list of potential grants I can apply for, there are about 7 or so, plus internal grants, so hopefully I can get some kind of finacial support for myself. I don’t need to go out and get grant money, there is enough to fund what I am doing, however, I want to have a succesful grant on my CV, it is one of my goals for my master’s. So I’m basically going to keep applying until I get a few. Furthermore, it is good to keep doing this, I think it helps me overall become a better scientist.

~ by epiphron13 on April 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
