Medium Rare with a side of garlic mashed potatoes…


Well, I got grilled.

It wasn’t to bad, but it was rather intense. My committee asked some difficult questions, and some that I couldn’t answer. I felt kind of awkward and unsure of myself overall, despite those negatives I did notice some rather positive things.

One of my committee members, in his own way, reminded me that he will be pointing out flaws, but don’t take it personally. While I knew this, it was a helpful reminder, my committee is there to look for flaws in my study to ensure that when it goes to publication, we haven’t overlooked some large and glaring error.  Reminding me of that was helpful.

I have a lot to learn, particularly about statistics.  At one point they were talking about how I could analyze this later and I had no idea what they were talking about? Nested anova with multiple variants?  Bootstraps?  WHAT THE HELL! But that is ok, I have time to learn.

My courses were accepted with only minor revisions, so that is nice.

I have a very good committee. They are familiar with my field specifically, but also fields related to mine*, their comments were helpful and insightful and pointed out a few problems with the proposal and the research that need to be addressed. Further, when they were asking questions and it was clear I wasn’t sure what they were looking for, they kind of baited me with questions until I understood what they meant.  I’m pleased with my committee.

I now have a lot of work to do, which is good.  Boredom will cease to be a problem.

*neither are in the same niche as my adviser, however both have perspectives on different aspects of my study.

~ by epiphron13 on April 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
