On Monday morning…


I am a person who can not work unless there is relative silence.  If I hear people talking, I will focus on that instead of what I should be working on. It is obviously a problem, as I share an office with several other people, who are not always quiet, and it would be rude of me to demand complete silence when I am in the office.  It is something I need to work on.

Recently, I’ve attempted to avoid Monday mornings because there is often a lot of chatter about what happened last weekend and so forth.  I typically stay home, read papers, write, do whatever I need to do in the peace and quiet of my home.  Today though Pam is home, and she is a bigger distraction than people who talk*. So today I am in the office and there is the usual, what did you do last weekend conversations going on.  All I want to do is read through about 15 articles and try to extract some useful information from them.  GAH!

While I am really annoyed right now, I need to find a permanent solution.  There will be many days in the future where I need to write, or read, and I will have to concentrate.  My most recent attempt is to plug in classical music in hopes it will drown out voices.  It doesn’t really work all that well, but it is better than nothing.  I am also thinking about changing offices, right now I share an office with 5 other people, if I could get that number down to 2 or 3, I think I’d be much happier.

In the meantime, I suffer…

*She tries, but it doesn’t matter, when she is in the house I’d rather spend time with her than write, what can I say?

~ by epiphron13 on April 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
